Territories’ voters facing election fatigue

26 June 2016


The second half of this year looks like seeing some Australians worn down with election fatigue.  It’s not so much because of the current Federal election, which was always due before year’s end, but because that election isn’t the only one happening.

Certainly the Federal election is happening earlier than was predicted at the start of the year.  The previous election was in September 2013, and with Federal elections due every three years, an election in September or October this year was thought most likely.  Therefore, with the election now happening in July, it won’t be that much earlier than would’ve been due.

But it wasn’t going to be the only general election happening this year.  Both the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory have general elections coming up in the next few months, with the former going to the polls in August and the latter going in October.  Their last elections were both four years ago, in the second half of 2012, and they have, like most Australian states, fixed parliamentary terms lasting four years.  If not for the decision of the Prime Minister to call the Federal election earlier than had been expected, it might’ve fallen between the two territories’ elections, but instead they’ll both come after it.  As such, the territories’ voters are facing election fatigue.

Not much attention is generally paid to general elections in the territories, probably because of their relatively small populations, and their impacts on national politics aren’t considered too significant.  But they can’t always be unnoticed.

I remember both territories holding elections just before a Federal election in 2001, with the Labor Party winning office in both territory elections.  Few remember that 2001 was quite a year politically, with Labor winning almost every election of note during that year.  First, Labor won office in a state election in Western Australia, and then Labor won a state election in Queensland with a massive majority after a term of governing with crossbench support there.  After those two wins, Labor won a Federal by-election caused by the resignation of a rival MP, whose seat was never considered winnable for Labor, and months later came Labor’s two territory election wins.  But despite these successes, Labor ended up losing that year’s Federal election.  I guess that it shows how political success in one region doesn’t always follow in another.

Nonetheless, in the coming months general elections will take place in the two territories.  They both have single-chamber parliaments, each of them known as the Legislative Assembly, with different means of representation and voting.

The Northern Territory Legislative Assembly has elections akin to those for the House of Representatives in Federal Parliament, for twenty-five single-seat electorates, while the ACT Legislative Assembly has elections akin to those for the Senate in Federal Parliament, for seventeen seats across three electorates.

Currently the Country Liberal Party governs with crossbench support in the Northern Territory.  Of twenty-five seats available, the CLP holds twelve seats, and the Labor Party holds seven, with Independents holding the remaining six seats.  The CLP won office at the last election, with a clear majority, but several MPs have since quit to sit on the crossbenches, and the CLP governs with their support.  Indeed the CLP has been through leadership turmoil during much of the past four years, with Terry Mills ousted in a leadership coup less than a year after he led the CLP to victory, and new leader Adam Giles having endured threats to his leadership since then.

In the ACT, the Labor Party has governed continuously since 2001, mostly with crossbench support, but with a majority in its own right between elections in 2004 and 2008.  Of seventeen seats available, both the Labor Party and the Liberal Party hold eight seats each, with a Green holding the balance of power.  Jon Stanhope led Labor to victory in 2001, and was Chief Minister of the ACT for nearly ten years before departing in 2011.  Katy Gallagher led Labor after Stanhope left, and was Chief Minister for less than four years before switching to Federal Parliament.  Andrew Barr has led Labor since Gallagher left.

Rarely have opinion polls been done for the territories, probably because they have so few voters.  But at this stage my feeling is that Labor will win both territory elections this year.  The CLP has been in a mess since winning in the Northern Territory, and Labor has been pretty steady in the ACT.  Voters will be fatigued after both elections, regardless of who wins them.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s